student prizes 2011-2012

Neale M. Albert Fund Prize

Awarded for the best paper on the subject of art law Xiyin Tang '12 "The Artist as Brand: Towards a Trademark Conception of Moral Rights"

Charles G. Albom Prize

Awarded annually to a student who demonstrates excellence in the area of judicial and/or administrative appellate advocacy in connection with a Law School clinical program Amanda Gutierrez '12 Mark Pedulla '12 Dermot Lynch '12 Laura Huizar '12

Burton H. Brody Prize

Awarded for the best paper on constitutional privacy Marissa Doran '13 "Information Traps"

Nathan Burkan Memorial Competition Prize

Awarded for the best paper(s) in the field of copyright law Helen Vera '13 "Site-Specific Works and the Visual Artists Rights Act: Modeling a More Flexible Approach on the Building Exception"

The Joseph A. Chubb Competition Prize

Awarded for excellence in legal draftsmanship Dana Montalto '13 Rebecca Izzo '13 for their motion in Shepherd v. McHugh

Felix S. Cohen Prize

Awarded for the best paper on a subject related to legal philosophy Sherif Girgis '14 "Accomplice Liability"

Edgar M. Cullen Prize

Awarded for the best paper by a first-year student William Allen Smiley IV '14 "Lawfare in Luzon: The American Application of the Rules of War in the Philippines, 1898–1903"

Thomas I. Emerson Prize

Awarded for a distinguished paper or project on a subject related to legislation Glenn Bridgman '13 "One of These Things Is Not Like the Others: Legislative History in the U.S. Courts of Appeal" Matthew Christiansen '12 "The Administrative Constitution of Electricity Restructuring: A Case Study in Statutory Reinterpretation"

Ambrose Gherini Prize

Awarded for the best paper in the field of International Law, either public or private William J. Moon '12 "A Default Rule Theory of International Custom"

Margaret Gruter Prize

Awarded for the best paper on how ethology, biology, and related behavior sciences may deepen understanding of law Emad Hanzala Atiq '16 "The Scientific Challenge of Free Will and Criminal Responsibility"

Jerome Sayles Hess Fund Prize

Awarded to the student who demonstrates excellence in the area of International Law Celia Choy '12 Paul Linden-Retek '12

Marshall Jewell Prize

Awarded for the best second-year student contribution to a law journal other than The Yale Law Journal Joshua McLaurin '13 "Making Cyberspace Safe for Democracy: The Challenge Posed by Denial-of-Service Attacks"

Quintin Johnstone Prize in Real Property Law Established by the CATIC Foundation

Awarded to a second- or third-year student at the Law School who has demonstrated excellence in the area of real property law Elizabeth Kelly '12 "'Nudging' Section 8 Recipients Out of the Ghetto"

Florence M. Kelly '37 Family Law Prize

Awarded to the student who demonstrates exceptional interest or achievement in the area of family law Talia Kraemer '12 Caitlin Mitchell '12 Alice Shih '12

William T. Ketcham, Jr. Prize

Awarded for the best paper in the field of private international law Brian Bombassaro '12 "State of Responsibility for 'General Measures of Economic Policy' Under Investment Law"

Khosla Memorial Fund for Human Dignity Prize

Awarded to the student who best demonstrates an active engagement in advancing the values of human dignity in the international arena Sirine Shebaya '12

Raphael Lemkin Prize

Awarded for a paper in the field of international human rights Alice Shih '12 Trevor Stutz '12 "Sink or Swim: Abrogating the Nile Treaties While Upholding the Rule of Law"

Stephen J. Massey Prize

Awarded to the student who best exemplifies, in work on behalf of clients and in other community service, the values of the Jerome N. Frank Legal Services Organization at Yale Law School Kristen Lang '12
Edward Ramos '12
Bonnie Doyle '12
Edward McCarthy '12
Elizabeth Kelly '12

Judge William E. Miller Prize

Awarded for the best paper concerning the Bill of Rights Robert Leider '12 "Our Non-Originalist Rights to Bear Arms: How Public Opinion Has Shaped the Second Amendment"

C. LaRue Munson Prize

Awarded for excellence in the investigation, preparation, and (where permitted under the Legal Internship Rule) presentation of civil, criminal, or administrative law cases, under a Law School clinical program
Patrick Moroney '12
Katherine Oberembt '12
Melissa Ader '12
Kathryn Swenson Cahoy '12

Joseph Parker Prize

relating to legal history or Roman law
Kellen Funk '14
"The Fusion of Law and Equity in
the Field Code of Civil Procedure:
New York, 1846–1876"
Ezra Siller '12
"The Origins of the Oral Deposition Under
the Federal Rules: Who's in Charge?"

Awarded for the best paper on a subject

Israel H. Peres Prize

Awarded for the best student Note or Comment appearing in The Yale Law Journal Jonah Gelbach '13 "Locking the Doors to Discovery? Assessing the Effects of Twombly and Iqbal on Access to Discovery"

Edward D. Robbins Memorial Prize

Awarded to the best third-year student contribution to a law journal other than The Yale Law Journal
Jeremy Kaplan-Lyman '12
"A Punitive Bind: Policing, Poverty and Neoliberalism in New York City"

Benjamin Scharps Prize

Awarded for the best paper by a third-year student Matthew J. Hegreness '12 "Quantitative Constitutional Law: Evolution of the States' Declarations of Rights"

Colby Townsend Memorial Prize

Awarded for the best paper by a second-year student Marissa Doran '13 "Information Traps"

William K.S. Wang Prize

Awarded to recognize superior performance in the introductory corporate law course Allyson Bennett '13 Jacqueline Carter '12 Kathryn Cherry '13

Francis Wayland Prize

Awarded to the student showing greatest proficiency in preparing and presenting a case in negotiation, arbitration, and litigation Lauren Blas '12
Romy Ganschow '12
Nicholas Hoy '12
Sebastian Swett '12
Lorraine van Kirk '12

Judge Ralph K. Winter Prize

Awarded annually to the best student paper written in law and economics
Amber Moren '12
"The Debtor's Dilemma: Economic
Analysis of Asset Retention in Consumer
Bankruptcy

BARRISTERS' UNION PRIZES

John Fletcher Caskey Prize

For the best presentation of a case on final trial in the Thomas Swan Barristers' Union John James Snidow '14

John Currier Gallagher Prize

For the student showing most proficiency in the presentation of a case on final trial in the Thomas Swan Barristers' Union Irina Vaynerman '14

MOOT COURT PRIZES

Thurman Arnold Appellate Competition Prize

Awarded annually for the best student argument in advanced Moot Court competition Allyson Bennett '13

Benjamin N. Cardozo Prize

Awarded for the best brief submitted by a student in Moot Court Jariel Rendell '12 Tyce Walters '13

Potter Stewart Prize

Awarded each term to the student team that presents the best overall argument in Moot Court

FALL 2011

Lewis Bollard '13 Jonathan Siegel '13 SPRING 2012

Allyson Bennett '13 Connor Sullivan '13

Harlan Fiske Stone Prize
Awarded for the best oral argument
by a student in Moot Court
Jonathan Siegel '13

YALE LAW JOURNAL

Michael Egger Prize

Awarded on recommendation of the Board of Officers for the best student Note or Comment in The Yale Law Journal on current social problems

David Keenan '13

David Keenan '13 Deborah Jane Cooper '13 David Lebowitz '12 Tamar Lerer '13

"The Myth of Prosecutorial Accountability After Connick v. Thompson: Why Existing Professional Responsibility Measures Cannot Protect Against Prosecutorial Misconduct"

Danielle Lang '12 "Padilla v. Kentucky: The Effect of Plea

Colloquy Warnings on Defendants' Ability
To Bring Successful *Padilla* Claims"

Prize-winning papers have been posted to a digital repository at http://digitalcommons.law.yale.edu/ylsspps/