student prizes 2012-2013

Neale M. Albert Fund Prize

Awarded for the best paper on the subject of art law

Monika Isia Jasiewicz '13

"A Dangerous Undertaking: The Problem of Intentionalism in Appropriation Art Infringement Cases"

Charles G. Albom Prize

Awarded annually to a student who demonstrates excellence in the area of judicial and/or administrative appellate advocacy in connection with a Law School clinical program Spencer Amdur '13 Hannah Brennan '13 Alexander Ramey '13 Danielle Rosenthal '13 Matthew S. Vogel (joint degree)

Burton H. Brody Prize

Awarded for the best paper on constitutional privacy
David Felton '14
Peter Gabrielli '14
Nicholas Handler '15
Bert Y. Ma '15
Erica Newland '15
Caitlin Tully '14
Eileen Zelek '13
"Jones, Jardines, and the Privacy/Property Mobius Strip"

Nathan Burkan Memorial Corporation Prize

Awarded for the best paper(s) in the field of copyright law Andrew Tutt '13 "Unique Copyrights"

1 1 3 8

The Joseph A. Chubb Competition Prize

Awarded for excellence in legal draftsmanship Christine Buzzard '13 Daniel P. Driscoll '14 Laura Keay '13 Andrew Tutt '13

Barry S. Cohen Prize

to literature and the law
Cameron VanSant '13
"Comus as Compromise: Lord Chancellor
Ellesmere and the Legal Lineage of

Awarded for the best paper on a subject related

Felix S. Cohen Prize

Milton's Maske"

Awarded for the best paper on a subject related to legal philosophy Benjamin M. Eidelson '14 "Treating People as Individuals"

Edgar M. Cullen Prize

Awarded for the best paper by a first-year student Zachary D. Liscow '15 "Beyond Double Distortion: When Legal Rule Design Should Incorporate Equity as Well as Efficiency"

Thomas I. Emerson Prize

Awarded for a distinguished paper or project on a subject related to legislation Gillian Gillers '13 "Obstruction of Congress: The Criminalization of Politicking"

Ambrose Gherini Prize

International Law, either public or private Ryan Liss '13 LLM "The Development of the Right to Enter One's Own Country: Challenging Sovereign Control Over the Terms of National Belonging"

Awarded for the best paper in the field of

Aloysius Llamzon '13 JSD

"Arbitrating at Shadows: The Control of
Corruption in Foreign Investment through
International Arbitration"

Jerome Sayles Hess Fund Prize

Awarded to the student who demonstrates excellence in the area of International Law Sally Pei '13 Michael Shih '14

Quintin Johnstone Prize in Real Property Law Established by the *CATIC Foundation*

Awarded to a second- or third-year student at the Law School who has demonstrated excellence in the area of real property law

Zachary C.M. Arnold '15

"Bivalves and Bifurcation: Public and Private Property in the Connecticut Oyster Industry"

Steven J. Kochevar '14

"'Adverse Possession as a Means of Assessing Community Approval"

Florence M. Kelley '37 Family Law Prize

Awarded to the student who demonstrates exceptional interest or achievement in the area of family law

Brookes Brown '13 (for paper)

"Enough About Marriage Already: A New Roadmap for Public Policy Scholarship" Robert M. Schmidt '13 (for outstanding clinical work in family law)

Khosla Memorial Fund for Human Dignity Prize

Awarded to the student who best demonstrates an active engagement in advancing the values of human dignity in the international arena Tessa Bialek '13 Freya Pitts '13

Raphael Lemkin Prize

Awarded for a paper in the field of international human rights
Diana Blank '13
"Mired in the Margins: The Abuse of Migrants in Rebordered Ukraine and the Equivocal Role of the Rule of Law"

Stephen J. Massey Prize

Awarded to the student who best exemplifies, in work on behalf of clients and in other community service, the values of the Jerome N. Frank Legal Services Organization at Yale Law School Diana Blank '13
Peter Chen '13
Renata Strause '13
Jessica Vosburgh '13

Judge William E. Miller Prize

Awarded for the best paper concerning the Bill of Rights Tracy Nowski '13 "The Sex We Allow; The Sex We Endorse" Lochlan Shelfer '13 "How the Constitution Shall Not Be

C. LaRue Munson Prize

Construed"

Awarded for excellence in the investigation, preparation, and (where permitted under the Legal Internship Rule) presentation of civil, criminal, or administrative law cases, under a Law School clinical program Glenn Bridgman '13
James Dee '13
Linda Evarts '13
Arthur Ewenczyk '13
David Keenan '13

Joseph Parker Prize

Awarded for the best paper on a subject relating to legal history or Roman law Zachary C.M. Arnold '15 "Bivalves and Bifurcation: Public and Private Property in the Connecticut Oyster Industry"

Lochlan F. Shelfer '13 "Special Juries in the Supreme Court"

Israel H. Peres Prize

Awarded for the best student Note or Comment appearing in The Yale Law Journal Jane Y. Chong '13
"Targeting the Twenty-First Century Outlaw" Jacob Goldin '14
"Sales Tax Not Included: Designing Commodity Taxes for Inattentive Consumers"

Clifford L. Porter Prize

Awarded for an outstanding student performance in taxation Zachary D. Liscow '15 "Beyond Double Distortion: When Legal Rule Design Should Incorporate Equity as Well as Efficiency"

Edward D. Robbins Memorial PrizeAwarded to the best third-year student

contribution to a law journal other than
The Yale Law Journal
Jed Glickstein '13
"After Midnight: The Circuit Judges and the
Repeal of the Judiciary Act of 1801"

Benjamin Scharps Prize *Awarded for the best paper by*

a third-year student
Shaun Mahaffy '13

"The Case for Tax: A Comparative Approach
to Innovation Policy"

Colby Townsend Prize
Awarded for the best paper by a second-year

student

student
Angela Cai '14
"Insuring Children Against Parental
Incarceration Risk"
Benjamin M. Eidelson '14
"The Majoritarian Filibuster"

William K.S. Wang Prize

Awarded to recognize superior performance in the introductory corporate law course Jon Fougner '14 Alex C. Hemmer '14 Allison Turbiville '15

Francis Wayland Prize

Awarded to the student showing greatest proficiency in preparing and presenting a case in negotiation, arbitration, and litigation Tassity Johnson '13
Laura Keay '13
Dana Montalto '13
Travis Silva '13
Cody Wofsy '13

Judge Ralph K. Winter Prize

Awarded annually for the best student paper written in law and economics.

Michelle H. Lu '14

"Irrationality in the Market: Selling to Three Classes of Consumers"

BARRISTERS' UNION PRIZES

John Fletcher Caskey Prize

For the best presentation of a case on final trial in the Thomas Swan Barristers' Union Sheela Ramesh '14

John Currier Gallagher Prize

For the student showing most proficiency in the presentation of a case on final trial in the Thomas Swan Barristers' Union Jason Bertoldi '15

MOOT COURT PRIZES

Thurman Arnold Appellate Competition Prize

Awarded annually for the best student argument in advanced Moot Court competition Christine Buzzard '13

Benjamin N. Cardozo Prize

Awarded for the best brief submitted by a student in Moot Court Marvin Lim '13

Potter Stewart Prize

Awarded each term to the student team that presents the best overall argument in Moot Court FALL 2012

James Dawson '14

Bridget Fahey '14

SPRING 2013

Christine Buzzard '13 Andrew Tutt '13

Harlan Fiske Stone Prize

Awarded for the best oral argument by a student in Moot Court James Dawson '14

YALE LAW JOURNAL

Michael Egger Prize

Awarded on recommendation of the Board of Officers for the best student Note or Comment in The Yale Law Journal on current social problems

Benjamin M. Eidelson'14 "The Majoritarian Filibuster"

Prize-winning papers have been posted to a digital repository at http://lsr.nellco.org/yale/ylsspps/